Carry-on size and weight by airline

Economy, basic allowance. Values are from each airline's official page, checked on October 6, 2026 (the same data as our carry-on checker). Fares, routes and aircraft can change the rules — check your booking too.

Weight: "total" = including your personal item (bag, purse); "each" = per piece; ※ = the official page does not say which; "No limit" = the official page says there is no weight limit; "Not stated" = no weight limit is mentioned.

→ Enter your suitcase size to check it against every airline

Japan's airlines

JAL, ANA, Skymark, AIRDO, Solaseed Air, StarFlyer, Fuji Dream Airlines, Peach, Jetstar Japan, ZIPAIR, Spring Japan

Open the table (15 rules)
AirlineSizeWeight
JAL (domestic, 100+ seat aircraft)55×40×25cm, and total 115cm
incl. wheels and handles
10kg
total
JAL (domestic, under 100 seats)
Aircraft operated by J-AIR, JAC, HAC, RAC, etc.
45×35×20cm, and total 100cm
incl. wheels and handles
10kg
total
ANA (domestic, 100+ seat aircraft)55×40×25cm, and total 115cm
incl. wheels and handles
10kg
total
ANA (domestic, under 100 seats)45×35×20cm, and total 100cm
incl. wheels and handles
10kg
total
JAL (international)55×40×25cm, and total 115cm
incl. wheels and handles
10kg
total
ANA (international)55×40×25cm, and total 115cm
incl. wheels and handles
10kg
total
Skymark55×40×25cm, and total 115cm10kg
total
AIRDO
The official page shows per-side limits in a diagram; no total was stated
55×40×25cm10kg
total
Solaseed Air55×40×25cm, and total 115cm10kg
total
StarFlyer55×40×25cm, and total 115cm10kg
total
Fuji Dream Airlines (FDA)
The official page asks passengers to check in bags over this size, as well as wheeled bags; wheeled suitcases may need to be checked regardless of size
45×35×20cm, and total 100cm10kg ※
Peach
The official rule gives only the total of the three sides; no per-side limit is stated
total 115cm
incl. wheels and handles
7kg
total
Jetstar Japan
With the paid “plus 7kg” option or a fare that includes 14kg: 14kg in total (up to 10kg per bag)
56×36×23cm
incl. wheels and handles
7kg
total
ZIPAIR
Up to 2 bags (the second within 35×45×25cm), 7kg in total. Up to 15kg in total with a fee paid at least 24 hours before departure
55×40×25cm7kg
total
Spring Japan (domestic and international)
7kg in total with one personal item. Laptops and tablets are not counted in the 7kg (a limit on the number applies)
56×36×23cm, and total 115cm7kg
total

PR Example luggage scale (Japanese online stores)
Check the 7kg or 10kg limit before you go

ドリテック ラゲッジスケール LS-110SV (Amazon.co.jp)
weight limit 50,000 grams, reading accuracy 50 grams, one CR2032 lithium battery (for testing).

See it on Amazon

ラゲッジスケール 最大50kg デジタルスケール 吊り下げ式 (Rakuten Ichiba)
weighs up to 50kg in 10g steps; one CR2032 battery in the package.

Asian airlines

Korean Air, Asiana Airlines, Jeju Air, Jin Air, Trinity Airways, Air Busan, Cathay Pacific, Hong Kong Airlines, AirAsia, Malaysia Airlines, EVA Air, China Airlines, STARLUX Airlines, Tigerair Taiwan, HK Express, Scoot, Singapore Airlines, Thai Airways, Vietnam Airlines, VietJet Air, Philippine Airlines

Open the table (21 rules)
AirlineSizeWeight
Korean Air
The official wording: total of 115cm, or within 55×40×20cm
55×40×20cm or total 115cm
incl. wheels and handles
10kg
total
Asiana Airlinestotal 115cm
incl. wheels and handles
10kg ※
Jeju Air
The official page gives the size in two ways; this table and our checker use the stricter one
55×40×20cm, and total 115cm10kg
total
Jin Air
12kg on some routes
55×40×20cm, and total 115cm
incl. wheels and handles
10kg ※
Trinity Airways (formerly T’way Air)55×40×20cm, and total 115cm
incl. wheels and handles
10kg
total
Air Busan55×40×20cm, and total 115cm
incl. wheels and handles
10kg ※
Cathay Pacific (Economy)
7kg in total with a small item (40×30×15cm). Same for Premium Economy; Business 10kg, First 15kg (checked for Tokyo Haneda–Hong Kong)
56×36×23cm
incl. wheels and handles
7kg
total
Hong Kong Airlines (Economy)
Plus one small item (40×30×15cm). Business: 15kg
56×36×23cm (22×14×9 in)
incl. wheels and handles
7kg
total
AirAsia
2 pieces including a small bag (40×30×10cm), 7kg in total. This is AirAsia’s general guidance (no separate AirAsia X wording)
56×36×23cm
incl. wheels and handles
7kg
total
Malaysia Airlines (Economy)
7kg in total with a personal item (25×36×25cm). The size is from the official stowage guidance (“shall not exceed…”). Business: 2 bags plus a personal item, 14kg in total
56×36×23cm, and total 115cm7kg
total
EVA Air56×36×23cm, and total 115cm7kg
each
China Airlines56×36×23cm or total 115cm
incl. wheels and handles
7kg
each
STARLUX Airlines56×36×23cm or total 115cm
incl. wheels and handles
7kg
total
Tigerair Taiwan54×38×23cm
incl. wheels and handles
10kg
total
HK Express (Lite / Max fares)
The cheapest fares (Ultra Lite / Essential) allow only a personal item (40×25×20cm)
56×36×23cm7kg
total
Scoot
Economy: 2 pieces with the personal item, up to 10kg
54×38×23cm, and total 115cm10kg
total
Singapore Airlinestotal 115cm7kg
each
Thai Airways
The official page gives both 56×45×25cm and a 115cm total; this table and our checker use the stricter reading (both)
56×45×25cm, and total 115cm
incl. wheels and handles
7kg
each
Vietnam Airlines
Economy on routes to/from Japan (cabin bag up to 10kg); 12kg in total on US, Europe and Australia routes
56×36×23cm, and total 115cm10kg
total
VietJet Air56×36×23cm7kg
total
Philippine Airlines56×36×23cm7kg
each

North American airlines

United Airlines, Delta Air Lines, American Airlines, Alaska Airlines, Hawaiian Airlines, Air Canada, Southwest Airlines, JetBlue, Frontier Airlines

Open the table (9 rules)
AirlineSizeWeight
United Airlines
Basic Economy: personal item only on some routes
56×35×23cm (22×14×9in)
incl. wheels and handles
Not stated
Delta Air Lines56×35×23cm (22×14×9in; 45in), and total 114cm
incl. wheels and handles
Not stated
American Airlines56×36×23cm (22×14×9in)
incl. wheels and handles
Not stated
Alaska Airlines
The official page uses both “or” and “and”; this table and our checker use the stricter reading
55.88×35.56×22.86cm (22×14×9in; 45in), and total 114.3cm
incl. wheels and handles
Not stated
Hawaiian Airlines
The official page uses both “or” and “and”; this table and our checker use the stricter reading
55.88×35.56×22.86cm (22×14×9in; 45in), and total 114.3cm
incl. wheels and handles
Not stated
Air Canada
Economy Basic: personal item only on Canada, US and some other routes
55×40×23cm
incl. wheels and handles
No limit
Southwest Airlines60.96×40.64×25.4cm (24×16×10in)
incl. wheels and handles
Not stated
JetBlue55.88×35.56×22.86cm (22×14×9in)
incl. wheels and handles
No limit
Frontier Airlines
Whether a carry-on is included depends on the fare or bundle
60.96×40.64×25.4cm (24×16×10in; 35lb)15.9kg
each

PR Example travel bottles (Japanese online stores)
For liquids in the cabin on international flights: containers of 100ml or less

貝印 ソフトボトル 60ml (Amazon.co.jp)
capacity 60ml, 1 bottle, polyethylene and polypropylene.

See it on Amazon

トラベルボトル 30ml 50ml 100ml 選べる3サイズ 5個セット (Rakuten Ichiba)
a set of 5 bottles; choose from 30ml, 50ml or 100ml.

Oceania airlines

Qantas, Jetstar Airways, Air New Zealand

Open the table (3 rules)
AirlineSizeWeight
Qantas (international Economy)56×36×23cm
incl. wheels and handles
7kg ※
Jetstar Airways (departures until 1 Feb 2027)
From 2 Feb 2027, all fares include only one under-seat bag (40×30×20cm); an overhead bag comes with an add-on or some bundles (up to 10kg per bag)
56×36×23cm7kg
total
Air New Zealand55×40×23cm, and total 118cm
incl. wheels and handles
7kg
each

European airlines

British Airways, Air France, Lufthansa, Finnair, ITA Airways, Iberia

Open the table (6 rules)
AirlineSizeWeight
British Airways56×45×25cm
incl. wheels and handles
Not stated
Air France
Basic fares: no cabin bag (small bag only)
55×35×25cm
incl. wheels and handles
12kg
total
Lufthansa
Short/medium-haul Economy Basic: personal item (40×30×15cm) only
55×40×23cm8kg
each
Finnair
Economy Superlight: small bag only
55×40×23cm8kg
total
ITA Airways55×40×23cm
incl. wheels and handles
8kg ※
Iberia56×40×25cm10kg
each

PR Example power bank (Japanese online stores)
Power banks cannot be checked; up to 2 per person in the cabin

エレコム モバイルバッテリー 10000mAh EC-C37BK (Amazon.co.jp)
rated battery capacity 3.7V/10000mAh 37.0Wh, labeled as meeting PSE technical standards.

See it on Amazon

Anker Power Bank (10000mAh, 30W) (Rakuten Ichiba)
capacity 10000mAh; the label on the unit reads 5000mAh 7.2Vdc / 36Wh; PSE (notifying company: アンカー・ジャパン株式会社).

← Check your items